Date: 4th April 2018 at 2:45pm
Written by:

With Wolverhampton Wanderers’ fantastic campaign so far in 2017/18, three players have made it into the EFL Championship Team of the Season.

The 2018 EFL Awards ceremony takes place on April 15 in London and the shortlists for the various categories have now been announced.

Conor Coady, Ruben Neves and John Ruddy all make it into the Championship Team of the Season following votes from managers themselves.

John Ruddy (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Ryan Fredericks (Fulham), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Terry (Aston Villa), Tom Cairney (Fulham), Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers), James Maddison (Norwich City), Bobby Reid (Bristol City), Albert Adomah (Aston Villa), Matej Vydra (Derby County).

Neves himself is in contention for three further awards as the midfielder finds himself nominated for Player of the Season, Young Player of the Season and the overall EFL Team of the Season is yet to be unveiled.

For clarity loan players are ineligible for the awards.

I think in fairness, the following reaction is tongue in cheek.