Date: 28th December 2016 at 4:28pm
Written by:

The provisional Morocco squad for the 2017 African Cup of Nations tournament has been revealed and Wolverhampton Wanderers’ Romain Saiss is on the list.

The tournament this year takes place in Gabon and begins on January 14th and depending on how Morocco do in the competition this year, those players who make the final squad selection for the competition could be missing for up to six weeks in total of the domestic campaign.

Morocco have a United Arab Emirates training camp ahead of the competition, with friendlies against Iran on January 6 and Finland three days later.

They are building towards group stage matches against DR Congo on January 16 before then facing Togo and Ivory Coast.



Yassine Bounou (Girona, Spain), Yassine El Kharroubi (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria), Munir Mohamedi (Numancia, Spain).


Amine Attouchi (Wydad Casablanca), Mehdi Benatia (Juventus, Italy), Fouad Chafik (Dijon, France), Manuel da Costa (Olympiakos, Greece), Nabil Dirar (Monaco, France), Hamza Mendyl (Lille, France), Mohamed Nahiri (FUS Rabat), Romain Saïss (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England).


Youssef Aït Bennasser (Nancy, France), Nordin Amrabat (Watford, England), Younes Belhanda (Nice, France), Sofiane Boufal (Southampton, England), Mbark Boussoufa (Al Jazeera, United Arab Emirates), Mehdi Carcela (Grenada, Spain), Karim El Ahmadi (Feyenoord Rotterdam, Netherlands), Fayçal Fajr (Deportivo Coruña, Spain), Ismail Haddad (Wydad Casablanca), Mourir Obbadi (Lille, France), Oussama Tannane (St Etienne, France).


Rachid Alioui (Nimes, France), Khalid Boutaib (Racing Strasbourg, France), Youssef El Arabi (Al Lekhwiya, Qatar), Youssef Ennesyri (Malaga, Spain).